‘Chinese in this World’ 

‘Chinese in the World’

By: me

Material:

【Colour pushpins and cardboard foam】

Chinese people are everywhere around the world. How do we view ourselves? How do others view us? How many people stereotype Chinese or other people from other countries? How many people have been to China? Lastly, do you know China?

I have chosen the Chinese flag simply because I am a Chinese. Since this is my home country, I understand it the most. In this scale unit, I had many ideas, but then I chose the one that I wanted to do. I played with scale by using little pushpins to form the Chinese flags. As you can see, they are not perfect, because we as human are different and we are not good at all things. Also, if you see closely at the pushpins, you will see some of the pushpins has  plastic coming out, or the colour is different, or there are spots on them. These represent each person is different with perspectives, personalities and so on. Moreover, they are in one colour, because it represents human, not plants or pandas or more.

Why there are three flags? Each flag represents different views. The original China flag, which is the red and yellow one means people in China and my view of China. I think we have different perspectives, personalities and so on, but we are united as a country. The opposite colours of the original flag, which is the blue and green one means the Chinese people who hold another foreign passport or people who does not admit they are Chinese because they are scared that the people who stereotype will stereotype them in the wrong way as well. Also, you may have wondered about the blank flag with dotted holes on it. These holes and the white colour represent people who do not know Chinese and people who stereotype Chinese. The white means blank and nothing. Lastly, the populations continues further on, therefore I did not fulfill the whole thing with pins.

🇨🇳🇨🇳🇨🇳

My starting draft idea in sketchbook:

Leave a comment